Prompt about favorite time of Day


The skyline of Portland, Oregon with Mount Hoo...

Image via Wikipedia

I have several favorite times of the day.  Early morning didn’t start out as a favorite time of day-in high school I would sleep until 5 minutes before class, and then sleep in class.  I still got an Illinois Student Scholastic Scholarship.  But once I moved to Portland and discovered early morning paper delivery everyday and the coffee it was on.  As I have grown older I have come to appreciate mornings for more than just newspaper and coffee.  I like the gentleness of the beginning of the day.  It is nice to experience the World waking up.  The sun rising from behind Mt. Hood.  The birds shaking off the night. There is a fresh smell as if the night has washed the Earth and soon the Sun will mop up the dampness.

Another favorite time of day is nap time.  I don’t care when I get it in, just as long as I get 45 minutes to an hour and a half.

However, I think perhaps late afternoon/early evening is my favorite time of day.  The day is cooling off; the oppressive heat of summer slackens.  Whiffs of Beer-B-Que meats and veggies drift through the neighborhoods, as I amble among them.  In winter time I am treated to wispy drafts of freshly burnt oak or fir.  And the beautiful array of colors the turning leaves display, is a joy to walk on an early autumn evening/

Finally, any part of the day I don’t work is the best part of the day.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

