Walking a Moving Meditation or Labyrinth


Scala Sancta

Image by 1yen via Flickr

I have done two moving meditations-one walking and one on my knees.  The first one I walked was the famous labyrinth at the Cathedral of Chartes.  I traveled through Europe in the Spring and Summer of 2000.  I went to many churches and the Cathedral of Chartes was one.  I spent a bit of time walking around the cathedral before walking the labyrinth.

Scala Santa; Piazza di San Giovanni in Lateran...

Image via Wikipedia

The second moving meditation was when I ascended the Scala Sancta on my knees.  I spent my time trying to find a loose piece of marble from the stairs.  I searched between the wooden slates protecting the steps, but I found mostly lint and trash.  Towards the top I found a minuscule piece of stone, which appeared to be marble.

It is still in my rock collection.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

