Have I been in Seculsion and Have I Learned Anything?


I really haven’t spent time secluded, in the sense that I have gone to place away from society a la Walt Whitman, or to a monastery.  I have spent time alone in my house.  I spend a lot of time here alone-well with my cat-and I do tend to have the TV on when here.  It helps to block the ringing in my ears.

I have begun to use the time to discipline myself to write.  I have not always been disciplined.  In fact I need to work on this in regards to my eating.  I love to eat.  And I eat when I am nervous.  I use to smoke when nervous, and eat too.  It made me fat and sluggish.  Now I am just heavy.  And I attempt to walk everyday.  Most days I am successful in walking.  However, back to writing.  I am finding this 365 prompt idea is helpful.  I don’t have to stare at a blank page.  I get to practice putting pen to paper-for I write everything by hand first.  Then I type it.  In fact almost this whole paragraph is entirely new.  That is one of the positive aspects I get from hand writing first.  For me the next step is to begin to move beyond just writing the prompt.

As for the idea of seclusion, maybe I should try it.  Towards this end I am planning to attend a cursillo retreat. (I tried linking to Wikipedia page for cursillo but it sends me to yahoo help page.  Not sure what is going on)  Though it is a group retreat maybe I will learn something about myself.  I am a Spiritual person, in my own way.  Though I do not participate in oraganized religion.  It seems more for the glory of man than the glory of God-or the Great Unknown.  I think this is a better name for it encompasses the greatness and mystery surround God.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

