Random Acts of Kindness, I Am All For Them


I like to perform random acts of kindness when ever presented with the opportunity.  I do the regular acts of holding doors open for ladies, older people and people with their hands full.  I pick up dropped items for people.

This is what it looked like, but filled with trash

Once in China I came across an elderly gentleman emptying his three wheeled motorcycle of trash-into the creek which flowed around and through the campus where I taught.  It had a small attached bed.  Often these beds would hold cages of geese or ducks, going to market.  Sometimes they would be overflowing with fresh veggies, straight from the fields.  Or as in this case trash.

He had backed his moto up to the edge of the creek”s lip.  We were on a small dusty gravel road just outside the walls of the school.  As he was emptying the trash, the motorcycle began sliding into the creek bed.  Now the water was a good five lower than the road.  When I cam upon the scene the front wheel was in the air and he was hanging from it.  His efforts had achieved a stalemate of sorts where by the three wheeled vehicle was no longer sliding off the road.  However, he was unable to bring the front tire down or to pull the moto back from the brink.  So after taking two or three photos-which I can’t find at the moment- I ran over to help him pull the bike back from the precipice.

Together we got the front tire on the ground and then we yanked the bike back onto firmer ground.  He thanked me.  I told him he was welcomed and then I continued walking back to the university.

Hat tip to Yinxiang Motor Company for the photo.

Enhanced by Zemanta
3 thoughts on “Random Acts of Kindness, I Am All For Them

  1. Pingback: Attitude of Gratitude – 11/5/11 | Elena's Inspirations

  2. Pingback: Purposeful Acts of Kindness « Texas Moose House

  3. Pingback: Happy Random Acts of Kindness Day « Mental Health Food

Leave a Reply

