Creative Blocks-IFeel Them


I often feel blocked.  Not because I do not have anything to say, but because I am not sure where to begin. what to do if I finish.  What if it is not good?  What if if is hack-eyed and crap writing?  How do I develop characters so they are not card board cutouts?  How do I write sharper dialogue and more concise descriptions?  How do I get what I envision in my head onto the page?

What I write never seems good enough once I begin.  I fret over its shortcomings and push it away.  I move onto another project or begin another piece.

Yet the questions persist.  Soon I grow anxious.  When I grow anxious I eat.  I have struggled with this for years.  I can’t control the eating or stop it.  I have tried to work with it.  I buy fruit and salad and give myself permission to eat it all.  And I do.  Then I feel terrible with the lack of self control.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

