Generating Worlds D&D Style


So I came across the idea of one-roll dungeon generator.  I think if was a post by D&D on Facebook.  And the link went to here.

I saw Brian Holland’s One-roll Generator spreadsheet and I was like I can use this for writing exercises.  With Brian’s spreadsheets(there are four different generators) you have to do a little work, i.e. roll the die.

There is another site here where you don’t have to do much.

And still more here.

Part of the problem I often face is not knowing where to start.  And instead of diving in, I flounder.  I understand there is no right answer, or right place to start.  However, i just freeze and lock up as the pen hovers about the blank white page.

I can get some things down.  I can’t make list of things I don’t know.  Lists of books to read.  And lists of names.  But making it come together for a first draft, that is proving difficult.

With these generators I can let randomness decide where to start.  (The only problem is I might just keep punching the generate button.  I might not get anything done).

2 thoughts on “Generating Worlds D&D Style

  1. I’ve found I need to force myself to roll once on a table and accept the results. If I don’t, I’ll keep going until I find something”interesting.” That’s great when I’m just messing around on a Sunday afternoon (like now 😉) but it won’t do during a game session…

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have continued to roll until I found something interesting many times. It can be difficult to take that first roll. Often no one is there to keep me honest and make me work with the first roll. Haha. But I am getting better

      Like

Leave a Reply

